WhenYou Feel You Don’t Measure UP


Well today started The Life of David Bible Study from Love God Greatly normally I would post my journaling, but this time I will write on it from my view. Okay here goes

Today we looked at 1 Samuel 16:1-12 these verses talk about how David was looked down on by his family and he was also looked down by Samuel, but God told Samuel not to look at the outward appearance, but to look at his heart. How many times have we as Christians looked at people’s outwards appearance? Are we quick to judge somebody on their looks? I know at times I have been guilty of judging somebody on their outward appearance instead of looking at what is in their heart. I believe as Christians we are all guilty of doing this at some point in our life.

Also we see how God used David to do great and powerful things with his life. I was reminded that even though I am going through a dry season of my life God has called me to do something great and powerful. God has called us all to do something great and powerful in our lives. What that looks like for you is up to the Lord. I am still trying to figure out what it is God has for me. I am trusting him with whatever it is in my life. I will not say that I don’t go through struggles because I do, but I will continue to trust the Lord to have my back. David trusted God with his life and he went on to become king of Israel. We also see that David was not Samuel’s first choice to be king, but he was God’s first choice because God saw David’s great potential.

Let us remember that we may not always be someone’s first choice, but we are always God’s first choice and he wants to do great and powerful lives. Also let us not be quick to look at the outward appearance of other people, but instead let’s look at their heart. 1 Samuel 16:7 But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider how handsome or tall he is. I have not chosen him. I do not look at the things people look at. Man looks at how someone appears on the outside. But I look at what is in the heart.”

