9 Thoughts that Can Change Your Marriage


9781601427083

Today I am going to review 9 Thoughts That Can Change Your Marriage by Sheila Wray Gregoire is a wonderful book she gives real answers instead of the general pat answers that tend to repeat themselves and tend to sound so callous. She gives practical action steps on how to better your marriage with your spouse. There are 9 thoughts in there anybody can relate to. I won’t cover all 9 thoughts because I want you to read the book for yourself and see what you think.

Thought number 3 is great when she tells you action steps to resolve conflict. I loved her action step number 2 that when we share our frustrations with our husband, be clear on what you want to get out of the conversation: Should he listen, fix it, or help you fix it? Also in step 4 she suggested to take a personality inventory and a strengths inventory to figure out who you are. Let yourself off the hook for your weaknesses. Work more in your areas of strength.

Thought 7 Being One is More Important Than Being Right stuck out for me because I tend to always want to be right and have my own way. I loved how she said “The most effective way of seeing your husband as an ally is to stop and pray and ask God to help both of you see clearly. That is a great statement because as women we tend to let our emotions get the best of us and when we pray about it to God he helps us to keep our emotions in check. I also like how she said “Ask yourself, “What do I need in this situation right now?” When you find the answer, you’ve named your issue–your unmet need–and that means you can start problem solving.

I would recommend this book to all people who are considering getting married and to those who are already married because this will help to strengthen your marriage with each other.

Disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for books in exchange for my honest review.

 

 

 

 

